South Worcestershire Development Plan Policies Map

The South Worcestershire Development plan was adopted on 25th February 2016. The South Worcestershire Development Plan includes a Policies Map which shows all the areas in the south Worcestershire districts where different policies apply. The Policies Maps can be viewed on the Interactive Map.


Maps below were produced as part of the South Worcestershire Development Plan process and are for information only.

Proposed Main Modifications Maps (2015)
Proposed Modifications Maps (2014)
SWDP Submission Policies Maps (2013)


The historic evolution of all the mapping proposals for the SWDP can be examined via the links below. These links show the mapping proposals for the SWDP at the Preferred Options stage (September 2011) and the Proposed Significant Changes stage (July 2012).



CITY: Worcester (9.12MB)

MAIN TOWNS: Droitwich Spa | Malvern | Evesham

OTHER TOWNS: Pershore | Tenbury Wells | Upton-Upon-Severn

Map Legend and List of Major Changes Village Maps

CATEGORY 1 VILLAGES  Abberley Common | Bredon | Broadway |
Clifton Upon Teme Hallow | Honeybourne | Inkberrow | Kempsey |
Offenham | Welland | Wychbold

CATEGORY 2 VILLAGES: Ashton-under-Hill | Bayton | Beckford |
Bretforton | Cropthorne | Drakes Broughton | Fernhill Heath |
Flyford Flavell | Harvington | Overbury | Pinvin | Powick and Collett’s Green
| Sedgeberrow | South Littleton | Tibberton | Upton Snodsbury

CATEGORY 3 VILLAGES: Bishampton | Cleeve Prior | Conderton |
Crowle | Defford | Elmley CastleHanbury | Pebworth | Whittington

North & Middle Littleton

TOWN SHOPPING CENTRES: Droitwich Spa |  Evesham |
Malvern | Pershore | Tenbury Wells | Upton – Upon – Severn | Worcester


Hampton, Evesham | London Road, Worcester | Shrubbery Road, Drake Broughton

LOCAL SHOPPING CENTRES: Davies Road,  Evesham | Fairfield, Evesham | Fulber Road, Pershore | Westlands, Droitwich Spa | Witton, Droitwich Spa

MAJOR DEVELOPED SITES IN THE GREEN BELT: Roxel UK | Hartlebury Trading Estate | Hindlip Park | Sixways

SAFEGUARDED LAND FOR TRANSPORT INFRASTRUCTURE: Railway between Droitwich Spa and Stoke Prior

CITY: Worcester City Plan and City Centre Inset

MAIN TOWNS: Droitwich | Evesham | Great Malvern (North) and
Great Malvern (South).

OTHER TOWNS:  Pershore | Tenbury Wells and Upton upon Severn.

CATEGORY 1 VILLAGES: Abberley Common | Badsey | Bredon |
Broadway | Clifton Upon Teme | Great Witley | Hanley Swan |
Hartlebury | Honeybourne | Inkberrow | Kempsey | Lower Broadheath |
Martley | Offenham | Ombersley | Rushwick and Wychbold.

CATEGORY 2 VILLAGES: Ashton-under Hill | Bayton |
Bretforton | Broadwas | Callow End | Cropthorne | Drakes Broughton |
Eckington | Fernhill Heath | Fladbury | Flyford Flavell |
Harvington | Overbury | Pinvin | Powick and Collett’s Green |
South Littleton | Tibberton and Upton Snodsbury.

CATEGORY 3 VILLAGES: Alfrick | Cleeve Prior | Clows Top | Crowle |
Defford | Elmley Castle | Hanbury | Himbleton | Kemerton |
Lower Moor | North and Middle Littleton | Pebworth and Whittington.

Map legend for Wychavon settlements

Please note: Maps above are those presented to the three councils on the 27th May 2011. A number of changes have subsequently been made. These changes have been agreed with the planning portfolio holder at each council.


Context Map

Context Map helps illustrate the main features of the South Worcestershire area including major transport routes (including rail), neighbouring Local Planning Authorities, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Green Belt and the more sustainable settlements.


Key Diagram

The South Worcestershire Development Plan is accompanied by a strategic key diagram to help illustrate the development strategy and policies described within the plan.

This strategy has evolved over a significant amount of time and much of it has already been subject to extensive consultation. It should be looked at in conjunction with the features illustrated in the Context Map (see map above).

The key diagram identifies the following:

      • Worcester as the focus for development;
      • The Main Towns, Other Towns, Category 1(named), 2 and 3 villages;
      • Major allocations at Worcester and the main towns;
      • The principal transport network and infrastructure requirements including proposed Park and Ride sites and Worcestershire Parkway;
      • The main commuting patterns;
      • The Worcestershire A38 High Technology Corridor;
      • Strategic Retail Development at Worcester;

Green Infrastructure (GI)

The original intention was for this information to be used at a County level. There will be local variations of GI quality.

Geography of South Worcestershire

South Worcestershire covers approximately 1,300 square kilometres (500 square miles) of the County and forms the southern limit of the West Midlands. It comprises the largely rural districts of Malvern Hills and Wychavon along with the city of Worcester which is the largest urban area.

Beyond the city there are the three main towns of Droitwich Spa, Evesham and Malvern and the towns of Pershore, Tenbury Wells and Upton upon Severn. In addition there are over 200 villages of varying size, character and level of service provision.

The total population of South Worcestershire is approximately 286,400 (2009 Mid-Term Population Estimates).

The countryside is distinguished by the upland areas of the Cotswolds (including Bredon Hill) and Malvern Hills Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and by the river valleys of the Avon, Severn and Teme.

South Worcestershire is easily accessible, by rail and road, from the West Midlands conurbation and to a lesser extent from London. However, the capacity of key elements of the communications network to deal with current demands and future requirements is a concern.

Similarly rural accessibility is an important issue as reductions in public transport and increases in transportation costs will increase demand for flexible transport and safer routes for pedestrians and cyclists where possible to support rural communities and the rural economy.

Good accessibility and the high quality built and natural environment has led to the area being subject to relatively high levels of inward migration which has helped to keep market housing prices relatively high. Housing affordability within both the urban and rural areas is a major issue.

The West Midlands Green Belt has been an effective planning tool in ensuring that the main settlements, in particular Droitwich Spa and Worcester remain clearly separated and distinctive.

South Worcestershire provides some 127,000 employee jobs, 65% of which are at Worcester and the main towns.

Unemployment is nearly half that for the West Midlands. Average wages are lower than those in the West Midlands and England whereas average incomes are higher reflecting the relatively high proportion of retired people with investments.

Commuting beyond South Worcestershire is a necessity for those residents wishing to access higher salaries particularly in London and the M42 corridor. Most commuting however takes place within South Worcestershire with the strongest commuting flows between Malvern/Droitwich Spa and Worcester.

 Long distant view of the Malvern Hills, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty